
|
View Full Version : Operation Cyberloss???
AussieHosts 06-15-2001, 04:55 AM Here's a very interesting read:
http://www.streamingmedia.com/article.asp?id=7520
The second last paragraph, especially.
Gary
chaos 06-15-2001, 05:26 AM Haha.
It's nice to see the consumer beat the provider when it involves an "unlimited bandwidth" scam.
It goes to show that there is just no such thing as unlimited bandwidth.
allera 06-15-2001, 10:10 AM Brilliant. I think whenever someone mentions unlimited bandwidth, that article should be referenced.
Dogma 06-15-2001, 11:20 AM Great article!! Thank you very much for that!! :D
Chicken 06-15-2001, 12:14 PM Yep, and we heard from the person whom the article was mostly about, in a gisol thread not too long ago. Then there was that thread by some compnay asking what is wrong with unlimited? Put simply, if you offer unlimited bandwidth/etc., eventually you will get someone who is going to use it, and you are going to lie to get out of it, eat a large chunk of something, and run into some serious problems. It is just common sense.
nosepilot 06-20-2001, 12:39 PM i have caught gisol
posting positive reviews from
64.174.196.50
i have also received many threatning emails from this ip address.
it belongs to jack spivak
who has the same street address as gisol.
i am currently checking
what ip address will come up using
https://www.safeweb.com/
someone just tipped me that this service might
create the ip address used for other
positive gisol reviews.
if my ip address appears as
16.104.228.*
then the tip was right.
actually
look for any of these ips:
(they have all been used by gisol)
63.233.24.241
63.233.25.165
63.233.27.15
63.233.90.85
63.233.91.165
63.233.108.113
63.233.108.138
64.124.150.130
64.124.150.132
64.124.150.136
64.124.150.137
64.124.150.138
64.174.196.50
204.157.40.116
209.38.1.50
216.104.228.114
216.104.228.116
216.104.228.119
216.104.228.146
216.104.228.147
216.104.228.148
216.104.228.150
216.104.228.151
216.104.228.155
216.104.228.157
216.104.228.158
nosepilot 06-20-2001, 12:46 PM that didnt create an exact match to the ips used by gisol...
but...
that doesnt exactly disprove this letter that was sent to me:
Subject:
216.104.228.* IP addresses
Date:
Thu, 21 Jun 2001 00:22:52 +0800
From:
"Frank Chung" <chungff@hotmail.com>
To:
<kgb@nosepilot.com>
Dear Al,
The 216.104.228.* IP addresses you've been receiving mail from and who's
been posting to hostsearch.com are a result of using SafeWeb
(https://www.safeweb.com/).
SafeWeb is a proxy-like service that let people hide their real IPs while
surfing the net. So the gisol.com people aren't utterly stupid. They are
just not thorough enough and slipped sometimes.
Regards,
Frank
Chicken 06-20-2001, 12:56 PM Ok, but let's not turn this thread into another long thread about GISOL. If you've been receiving threatening emails, call law enforcement.
nosepilot 06-20-2001, 12:59 PM IT LOOKS LIKE webhostingtalk.com is
https://www.safeweb.com/
safe.
my real ip address comes through.
safeweb does not create a fake ip address on this site.
i guess i should report if yahoo and hotmail can be fooled.
just one second:
yes.
yahoo can be fooled:
Received: from [64.124.150.132] by web8001.mail.in.yahoo.com; Wed, 20 Jun 2001 18:02:41 BST
thats is a match.
gisol has sent me emails which have arrived as
64.124.150.132
here they are:
http://great-jones-street.com/nosepilot/gisol/11/janejay.txt
nosepilot 06-20-2001, 01:07 PM i was just posting to test if the ip address would come through
hidden or not.
i promise to stay away from this post and cause no more
racket.
-al sacui
davidb 06-20-2001, 04:03 PM UG, my head hurts from reading all those complaints. This is the ONE thing that really bugs me. Take a look at
gisol.com. On the side panel on the right you see the 7.95 account and under the price you see
"once you join the price will never go up"
Im not even getting into the 16,000. But I said this once before, this is just out right false advertising. I am just sick of people getting away with that.
Dogma 06-20-2001, 04:19 PM I just called Gisol.com.....the guy answered "Hi, you have reached Global Internet Solutions, how may I provide you with exceptional help?" Or something like that but about 4 times as long!!! I almost burst out lauging!!
joe public 06-20-2001, 05:31 PM Wow dogma, that is amazing that you got through to a human being, normally it is an answering machine. I have heard that they screen calls and if they recognize a phone number, they do not pick it up. Avoid complaints that way!
joe public 06-20-2001, 05:32 PM you want a good laugh? Go to www.gisol.com, then go to this site:
http://quasitronic.tripod.com/gisol/true_deal.html
Funny stuff, I tell ya!
-Ryu(+)mega- 06-21-2001, 12:55 AM Bandwidth.
Bandwidth bandwidth.
The Internet's Limitation.
Most people take it for granted. They connect [if they use a dial up connection] to the internet, or just pop open IE if they have a persistant net connection.. Go to sites, download images, files, text, and stuff..
For most people, just the common people who use the internet, not looking into building a webpage, exc, they never think twice. [until they get the 508 error. :D]
Well, enough about what you already know. ;)
I have had my own personal expirence (I didn't buy the hosting, of course, but I did see its effects) with 'unlimited' bandwidth.
www.starcraftgateway.com <--- nice site, BTW.
As read in another post, it takes up at least 200 gigs a month, probably up to 300 gigs plus. You cannot economicaly afford that. A major information backbone costs what? 900 dollars a month? 800? 1000? Well, anyway, it is a lot- thattakes up almost an entire connetctiong line. Anyway, apparently this was all for a one time '300 dollar fee'. It was a reseller, obviously. :)
So now he is desperatly searching for another host before Novanix (the scammer) shuts down the site. (already did it to the forum)
Unlimited bandwidth isn't possible. What happens when people start to leech? Get anti-leech programs. Alright. got it. So what about large, but perfectly legal things? Game demos? Usually they are not included in many hosting TOS. Avg demo is 50 megabytes, and is growing every day. 50 megabytes, 2 downloads a day per user, 200 users- that's 20 gigs a day. Times that by thirty, and a small demo site is getting 600 gigs of bandwidth a month. Sure, MOST TOS exclude it............. :P But some don't.
Obviously 99% of all unlimited bandwidth services are scams, or not true. The 1% that are real... well, they go bankrupt within 1 year of starting unlimited BW.
~Chris
novanix 10-05-2001, 04:41 PM GOD DAMN ???? I get blaimed here? Do you want to know what really happend? Jason the true owner of scgateway came to me saying he needd hosting as his current host stopped hosting him. i said ok i got into the gaming industry and got an advertiser well all the first payments we made went to him then the advertising money didnt even cover my hosting costs so i started to pay out of my pocket the money difference. Then he tells me we are releasing denny for some new guy so i try and find a solution i work up the idea that we should still pay $50 for doing nothing and so i offer this to denny. Anyway after that failed and i started to lose more than $300 a month paying for bills i told jason that we should do something so he then went and sold all of scgateay and i didnt see a penny.
|