Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Network Solutions is a spammer


Duster
06-13-2001, 08:50 PM
I just received spam from NSI. It starts with a common lie most spammers use, "you are getting this because you asked for it".

It said "You indicated that you wished to receive Web site security information via e-mail when you registered a domain with Network Solutions, a VeriSign company. Please see the bottom of this message to update
your communications preferences and user profile."

I have no domains registered with them. The domains I had once registered and later transferred had a different e-mail address than the one they used. All mydomains are now with 000domains,com and Open SRS, and almost all of my clients have theirs there as well.

This morning they called me (in reference to one registered at 000domains.com), tonight they spammed me. They are desperate.

This is one more reason to avoid NSI. I refuse to do business with any spammer.

JustinK
06-13-2001, 09:31 PM
I think network solutions is run by a shawk! (see shawks.net for details on shawks, and no that isn't my site, just one I enjoyed).


I can only hope them being that desperate means they are on the verge of having to change their system. I keep getting e-mails about .biz junk. They can afford to give away t-shirts, but not lower prices? Oh well, I don't use them anymore other than watching to see if any domains I want are still being abused by them keeping it past expiration.

Honu
06-14-2001, 12:49 AM
Aloha,
yeah have gotten junk from em before also
scums

arghhh make em walk the plank

avara
06-15-2001, 07:59 PM
I receive a constat stream of spam from Network Solutions. What an ugly company!

creepcolony
06-15-2001, 09:00 PM
why are they still in business?!

qslack
06-15-2001, 09:04 PM
Originally posted by creepcolony
why are they still in business?!

For two reasons...
0) The US Dept of Commerce loves them (for some reason, unbeknownst to anyone but the person who NSI bribed :) )
1) They get a fee for each domain registration, no matter what registrar
2) A lot of companies still use them and pay 3 times what they would elsewhere because they think they're getting customer service--ha ha ha.

Honu
06-15-2001, 09:38 PM
Aloha,
anybody getting the mail kine true junk mail from interland and network solutions about domain names ???

arghhhh got another one today in the old snailmail box

avara
06-16-2001, 08:34 AM
Yep, Network Solutions/Verisign get $6 for every new domain name registered per year.

tubedogg
06-20-2001, 05:54 AM
I got crap from NS via snail mail when one of my domains was about to expire offering to renew it ("for only $35 a year!")...It's interesting cause I don't and have never registered any domains with them. At least I don't get email from them.

What I would find really hilarious is if any of these anti-spam bills ever got passed and the courts fined NS who is in the pocket of the commerce dept....now that would be funny. :D