Ticovista
08-06-2000, 04:24 PM
besthost1.com is a scam site.
They take your money for one year advance. They will not honer their guarantee policy.
The best is to stay a way!!
George
info@ticovista.com
ticovista.com
Attention: they also run other sites that have the same text, offers and information.
Same scam!!!
------------------
TICOVISTA - 1Costa Rica Search Engine & Directory (http://www.ticovista.com)
info@ticovista.com
Annette
08-06-2000, 07:29 PM
That appears to be one of the "Gunnels holdings" (i.e., super.nu): http://fidpac.freeservers.com/
Another way to tell is that cheesy special that never seems to expire. I got a note from someone who wrote to the intellihosting part:
"Why do all of your pages have the same "special" that never expires? it isn't very special if you offer it all the time, after all."
And got this in response (no followup, and nothing's changed):
"Clever observation. I'll have to look into that.
Patrick Gunnels
Intellihosting Web Services"
Just one more reason to try and keep track of the honest hosts out there...
------------------
Annette
Hosting Matters, Inc.
http://www.hostmatters.com
Ticovista
08-06-2000, 07:58 PM
Exactly, his special never expires.lol
I feel very stupid that I got scamed, but the war is not over. I lost $220, he will loose more in the long run.
Everybody will now about it, sonn or later!
------------------
TICOVISTA - 1Costa Rica Search Engine & Directory (http://www.ticovista.com)
info@ticovista.com
Although I noticed most of the hosts they used were $100+ a month.
But of course..
We should all write to them and request that we be added to their comparison list..
Another "UNLIMITED Page hits" web host.. and for only $19.99.. Heck, I'm calling up Yahoo and telling them to switch over.
I was just reading through their web page a bit more, and found their "comparison" page a bit comical.
http://www.besthost1.com/competition.shtml
The language used is far from professional..
UNIXIELHOST
08-07-2000, 03:44 AM
Same for HostPro the 800MB package says unlimited bandwidth.... Sure, found small fine print only 40GB a month... Go take a look for yourself see how tricky it is.
http://www.vservers.com/hosting/semi-dedicated/vserver-ultra.html
jtan15
08-07-2000, 09:26 AM
Originally posted by Mike:
I was just reading through their web page a bit more, and found their "comparison" page a bit comical.
http://www.besthost1.com/competition.shtml
The language used is far from professional..
This is pretty funny. Although I noticed most of the hosts they used were $100+ a month. Hehe. :)
------------------
Vincent Paglione
vince@jtan.com
Chicken
08-07-2000, 09:45 AM
My favorite phrase-
"Well TOUGH NUGGIES..."
Annette
08-07-2000, 10:48 AM
I think if I were one of the companies on their list, I'd review what they have to say very carefully, especially the claim that some of those places have "no guarantee".
------------------
Annette
Hosting Matters, Inc.
http://www.hostmatters.com
Genady Perchenko
08-07-2000, 11:30 AM
Have anybody noticed that super.nu and besthost1 and some others have exactly the same testimonials with just company name changed?
Genady
AnGen
Goron
08-07-2000, 04:26 PM
*laughs* Besthost1.com was hallarius! I couldn't stop laughing!
Ticovista
08-07-2000, 04:56 PM
The latest update...
After I sent them "nice" email this is the responce I received.
1 email:
"George, we have no reason or desire to 'f---' you, as you put it. If we truly owe you a refund on your domain, we will get it to you - please reply with all the details possible, and I'll handle it for you.
Steve
Super.Nu
2 email:
Hi George - let me first apologize for the problems you encountered - we never did understand why it was happening - it is very rare, believe me, but I guess it was just bad luck. We would like you to give us another chance, but of course you have been waiting a long time for your refund, so let's do that first - credit card is the very easiest way, so please just reply with your cc number but NOT the exp date - no one can use the number without it, however we can credit the card - be sure to let us know how much you were charged. Sorry again for the hassle you experienced, and I hope we can regain you as a customer some day. Steve
--------------------------------------
BTW: The whole problem with the Besthost1.com was that a Apache page would come up VERY often and that of course looked very mickey mouse when someone tried to go to our site. When that happen FTP wouldn't work either.
GA
------------------
TICOVISTA - 1Costa Rica Search Engine & Directory (http://www.ticovista.com)
info@ticovista.com