Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Hostrocket?


Aradiel
07-16-2000, 06:55 PM
Hi,

I would like your opinion about Hostrocket.
Are they any good?

Thank you,

Aradiel
07-17-2000, 12:55 AM
Hi Gerard,

I read about them in another forum.
The hosting plan that I was looking at was $9.95 per month and it included 10Gb bandwith usage. Can 10Gb bandwith be that cheap? That is the reason for this post I just needed some feedback about them.

I'm not looking for a lot of space and I dont have so many requirements accept from cgi-bin with perl5, pop emails, mailing lists and a decent amount of bandwith.

I have decided to use a US- based host but I just dont want a bad host with a lot of downtime and other problems.

thank you,

Gerard
07-17-2000, 09:22 AM
Dear Aradiel,

As I remember you were questioning whether to go for a Swedish- or US-host, right? Where is this one located, what do you expect/want from them, where did you find them from, and what do they offer?

Gerard

Chicken
07-17-2000, 08:48 PM
It *could* be that cheap, but that wouuldn't allow for anything else. They are hoping you won't use that much. Even so, $2/G is very cheap.

HostRocket Support
07-21-2000, 08:20 PM
Hi. I work at HostRocket.com and perhaps I can clear things up. First off all our servers are US-based. Our hosting plans are listed on our site, http://www.hostrocket.com with different plans for different bandwidth and storage allowances. Or if you need custom plans we can help you out too. Feel free to e-mail me directly if you have anymore questions.

john@hostrocket.com

Chicken
07-21-2000, 09:07 PM
Hostrocket deleted the post that was questionable, and thus there is no need for my (somewhat harsh) post to remain here.

Thank you. :)

[This message has been edited by Chicken (edited 07-21-2000).]

scottlaw
07-21-2000, 10:19 PM
If you don't mind doing business with a company that spams open boards and lies about who they really are then they should be a great company. :) I know I would just love to do business with them. I wonder if their tech support actually admits they are tech support or pretends to only be customers :)

Scott

HostRocket Support
07-21-2000, 10:49 PM
Actually chicken, I am reyesj9@hotmail.com. I use it for non-HostRocket posts. Brendan Brader is my boss, I was posting from his computer.

Vladislav
07-21-2000, 11:11 PM
Yep John, now if you only learned how to *FAIRLY* compete instead of throwing dirt at those competitors with whom you'll never catch up, you'll be FINE.

You might also want to check with Brendan about that not-really-secure order form as well as the OpenSSL.


Sincerely,


Vladislav Davidzon <davidzon@thinkhost.com> :-)
Senior Network Administrator - ThinkHost Web Hosting Services
http://www.thinkhost.com - honesty, reliability, trust.
We are the smart choice for all your web hosting needs! (TM)

Mike Fisher, Hypertrophy
07-22-2000, 01:17 AM
Ohhhh Vlad! That was -harsh!-

TOTALLY harsh. Perhaps I should set up a little bit of a form catcher and plug it onto the Hostrocket web site? No, I wouldn't do that...

Anyways, I'm TGE [TheGraphicsExperience] from over at TWF, and I'll be going back there now. Nice forums, I might come here some day. :-)

hostrocket
07-22-2000, 01:56 AM
Everyone knows how insecure alabanza's systems are. Thats why hundreds of hosts use them, right? Didnt think so. Perhaps you should concentrate on making your company more competetive pricewise then bashing mine vlad. And by the way, not that its any of your business, but when one of my employees at my other job uses me as a web hosting provider, and posts from the same office through the same gateway server as me, it shows the same IP. Him along with none of you knowing this, coupled with him trying to keep me from getting mad at him is why he said he used my computer. I assure you this is not the case, and any of the 200+ computers in that building that share our internet connection appear to have the same IP when accessing the internet. Some of you have to know how this all works. Most likely not the people willing to jump to conclusions and start posting negative comments about people they do not know, in situations they do not know, and topics they know nothing about however. I dont know if any of you have your own business, but it is like having a child, and really does hurt to see if portrayed unfairly as has been done here.

-Brendan
brendan@hostrocket.com

Félix C.Courtemanche
07-22-2000, 02:47 AM
my 0.02...
hostrocket, you should keep a low profile. In my opinion, arguing over something of *that* importance is pointless and will only bring you even more problems.

I know it is hard to stay calm when you are attacked, may you be right or wrong. If you are right, you have nothing to proove and if you are wrong you should stay silent to let us think you are right :p

Anyway, either case you should *not* try to advertise your site on unwanted places like here. This show a great lack of profesionalisme and will not get you any clients, anyway.

Enjoy!

------------------
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Félix C.Courtemanche . Head Designer
Co-Administrator . Can-Host Networks
http://www.can-host.com
webmaster@can-host.com

JTY
07-22-2000, 03:16 AM
hostrocket, If you must argue, email him directly.

Chicken
07-22-2000, 10:07 AM
Originally posted by hostrocket:
Some of you have to know how this all works

Just so you know, *I* know *exactly* how this all works. Your company got caught playing the, "I have a friend..." routine. Please!

The post was deleted (which is all I wanted) and some light has been shed. Like a child, sometimes a buisiness has to be reprimanded and accept responsibility for its actions.

While you haven't exactly accepted responsibility, the issue was corrected and to be fair, this is all I wanted. Only you (Brendan) will continue this debate past this. I have nothing against you to carry it further.

Idwi
07-29-2000, 02:23 AM
Actually I don't like to be involved in this argumentation, but Host Rocket Support or reyesj9@hotmail.com had ever replied my post, so I think I can quote what they said.

Here they are:

From Topic: Need webhosting w/ good stats
First launched by me (Idwi)
URL: http://www.webhostingtalk.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/000390.html

reyesj9@hotmail.com:
"Hostrocket.com has a plan bla bla bla. I've never personally hosted with them but I hear they have good service (Alabanza servers)."


From Topic: Hostrocket?
First launched by Aradiel
URL: http://www.webhostingtalk.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/000386.html

HostRocket Support:
"Actually chicken, I am reyesj9@hotmail.com. I use it for non-HostRocket posts. Brendan Brader is my boss, I was posting from his computer."

So IMHO, I won't host my site to a hosting company which their own supports only "hear" that their company has good service ;)

hostrocket
07-31-2000, 08:27 PM
That was a comment made by one of our new guys, who didnt what he was getting himself into by doing that I guess. I have talked with him about it and it wont happen again. I myself was also confused at first as to what was going on.

-Brendan Brader
brendan@hostrocket.com