Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Too good to be true?


delz
07-28-2000, 07:13 PM
Guys,

I'm considering about Hostrocket but they seems to be the cheapest Alabanza based host around. They offer a package of 20GB transfer at only $29.95 per month. I thought that Alabanza charges very high for bandwidth?

I wanted to know whether they can be trustable or not. I don't want to end up with them like other scam host.

Give me your comments please. Thank you.

Regards,
delz

marksy
07-28-2000, 11:00 PM
They do charge $10 per GB over your monthly allowance which is 50Gb or 100Gb with their two new (and now only) plans. Hostrocket has been much maligned lately here, I'd recommend doing a search. 20GB for $29.95 is simply banking on that you don't use that much or even close, otherwise they'd lose money, guaranteed.



------------------
Chris Marks
KBS Web Hosting (http://www.netfronts.com)
http://www.netfronts.com

FlashTechnics
07-29-2000, 01:00 PM
They do seem very Polite and know what they are talking about but im still unsure if i should use them or not. As i'm looking for a good place to resell for until i can get my servers setup :).

------------------
Kind Regards
Edward Dalladay
Email - eddie@kchat.org or DjSy99@netscape.net
Web Address - http://www.kchat.org or http://www.flashtechnics.com

Jag
07-29-2000, 10:26 PM
BC, Whats that supposed to mean?
I realize my post didn't come off too good
so I registered and removed it.

MikeA
07-30-2000, 09:37 AM
Depending on the server that they have, if your site actually does 20 GB of transfer, then they have the potential to loose a lot of money. Even if they worked a deal out to get bandwidth at $5 per GB they still stand to loose.

I agree with Marksy, they are banking on the fact that no one will use that amount.

Be careful with this.


------------------
Mike Astin
WebAuthorities
http://www.webauthorities.com

guest
07-30-2000, 10:30 AM
See
http://www.SitePoint.com/forums/Forum10/HTML/000509.html
http://www.SitePoint.com/forums/Forum10/HTML/000525.html
http://www.tips-tricks.com/ubb/Forum10/HTML/000395.html

BC
07-30-2000, 10:46 PM
Jaguar,

Sorry - didn't see your post was deleted. Mine's also gone now. Case closed.

PhUnB0i
07-30-2000, 11:04 PM
As an Alabanza Host, I certainly know they're banking on a person not using that much bandwidth. But then again, it may be a safe bet, as our highest bandwidth customer only uses about 3gigs. Even at $4.25 a domain on our servers, we chance losing money if people max out their usage. It's a math game ... and *I* hate it :)


My suggestion : Think long term... and what will happen to a company that offers that sort of deal. What's going to happen when they get the bill for their customers using 20Gigs. =)

Just my 2+ Cents ....



------------------
Phillip J. Crane
Business Development
DomainBuilder web hosting services
DomainBuilder.net (http://www.domainbuilder.net)

webdevnetwork
07-30-2000, 11:37 PM
I use hostrocket.com for three domains: www.webdevnetwork.com, (http://www.webdevnetwork.com,) webdevresources.com, and dangelowebdesign.com and not once have I had a problem.

Their tech service is great, their people are courtious and polite, and their service is superior.

I really reccomend their services.

------------------
http://www.webdevnetwork.com

FlashTechnics
07-31-2000, 06:02 AM
Well if they do not take the risks they will never know. At least they arent one of the hosts that cliam unlimited bandwidth. Maybe they should bring there packages bandwidth down a little by maybe 2 or 3 gb per account. Give them a chance it may work for them then again it may work against them.

Originally posted by webdevnetwork:
I use hostrocket.com for three domains: www.webdevnetwork.com, (http://www.webdevnetwork.com,) webdevresources.com, and dangelowebdesign.com and not once have I had a problem.

Their tech service is great, their people are courtious and polite, and their service is superior.

I really reccomend their services.





------------------
Kind Regards
Edward Dalladay
Email - eddie@kchat.org or DjSy99@netscape.net
Web Address - http://www.kchat.org or http://www.flashtechnics.com