Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : MP3.com - SPAMMERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!


H2
06-06-2001, 06:19 AM
Hi
I have web site and all mail forwarding to one account. Two days ago I placed one email address to my home page. Today I have reveived 7 letters to addresses from MP3.com to

wh7@mydomain.com
musoq@mydomain.com
7pt7u@mydomain.com
.......
blablabla@mydomain.com

I never had such addresses!

Return-path: <bounce-0000001281-041793008@pobox.mp3.com>
Envelope-to: FncY@******
Delivery-date: Tue, 05 Jun 2001 17:08:33 -0600
Received: from sdcannon03.mp3.com ([63.241.19.112])
by ******* with smtp (Exim 3.20 #1)
id 157Pw9-0001Rg-00
for FncY@******; Tue, 05 Jun 2001 17:08:33 -0600
Received: (qmail 21042 invoked by uid 500); 5 Jun 2001 23:08:01 -0000
Message-ID: <20010605230801.21038.qmail@sdcannon03.mp3.com>
Content-Transfer-Encoding: binary
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="_----------=_991782481845532423"; charset="iso-8859-1"
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Mailer: MIME::Lite 2.106 (A1.1501; B2.11; Q2.03)
Date: Tue, 05 Jun 2001 16:08:01 -0700
To: FncY@******
From: welcome@mp3.com
Subject: Check out MP3.com's 750,000+ MP3s!
.....

I don't like it and want to act/ What should I do?

thanks

JustinK
06-06-2001, 11:21 AM
You could try contacting them and asking them to remove all addresses to your domain or see if there's a login for each of those names, get the info sent to the addresses, and cancel each of them (a pain, but if it works that's one less junk letter in the box). Possibly someone owned the domain before you and ran an e-mail service where people would use it to direct e-mail such as mp3.com stuff?

schweiz
06-06-2001, 11:36 AM
Is your domain hosted with Portland? I used to get spam from mp3.com to a domain I use to sign up at Portland :angry: It is useless unsubscribing your email from their mailing list, becos they'll just send you fresh spam using somethingelse@yourdomain.com. Blocking emails from mp3.com is the only way I can stop the nonsense :(

JustinK
06-06-2001, 12:58 PM
Hmmm... I guess I just got lucky. I asked them not to send me anymore and all the mp3.com e-mails stopped flowing in.

H2
06-06-2001, 01:18 PM
I have another 5 letters to address
iV1Kzfd2@
I5Jn@
Leaz9mhya@
tkdeq@

They have scanner and they got my address from my page/ :( :(

I will store letters and get $10 from them for each one in the court :)

alpha
06-06-2001, 03:16 PM
anyone getting spams from GetRankedNow@excite.com alot lately?

I've gotten about 4 emails (exact same) from them within the last week!

i've really never cared for spam, but now its pissing me off a bit.

so how/where do you report spam?

thanks