Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Ironinc Spam - Wizsystems.com


ThePrimeHost
03-05-2003, 09:21 PM
I found this pretty ironic:

Wizsystems spammed our abuse department email address. Out of curiosity I went to their website and read the following from their TOS:

"Customers may not run IRC, bots or clients on shared servers. Unacceptable uses also include, but are NOT limited to: ." Bulk emailing, unsolicited emailing , newsgroup spamming, illegal content, copyright infringement, trademark infringement, wares, cracks, software serial numbers, and/or anything else determined by WizSystems to be unacceptable use of WizSystems's services including abuse of server resources

http://www.wizsystems.com/agreement.html

Tisk. Tisk. They should really practice what they preach.

Haze
03-05-2003, 10:16 PM
Ever hear the term, "any advertising is good advertising".. well thats what your doing. If you don't like the spam, thats great, but why then advertise the URL on a public forum? Submit to spamcop, or ** out the url man, thats pathetic.

ThePrimeHost
03-06-2003, 01:42 PM
No need to be rude. Didn't your parents teach you any manners "Haze"? I suppose the name fits. ;)

At either rate, I would like to assume that the average WHT viewer/poster would know that this is not positive advertising. Who would sign up with a company that does not follow it's own TOS?

Kind Regards

UH-Matt
03-06-2003, 01:44 PM
theprimehost : he does have a point, they are now getting the exposure they hoped for :D

ThePrimeHost
03-06-2003, 01:48 PM
I know. Advertising is advertising. Lets just hope the readers here look into things and read the entire post before they rush to sign up.

Kind Regards (once again) :)