Colin
05-31-2001, 07:16 PM
You have just got to check this out:
http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1240582092
Some poor fool paid $255 for the URL of a site that sells the Geforce 3 card.
Read that again...the poor dope paid $255 just to find out where he could buy a Geforce 3 card.
Only in America, my friends...only in America...
Ericd
05-31-2001, 07:28 PM
:eek: :eek: :eek:
Wow, i wonder if he will resell the link :stickout
Some people also retracted their bids cause they thought it was the board itself.
alpha
05-31-2001, 09:59 PM
wait... did the guy who bought it know it was just the URL?
there are about 5 cancelled bid comments... just basically stating that they didn't know it was just a URL
the guy who bought the URL is a newbie ebay user... only bought off ebay auction once before... poor guy
MCHost-Marc
05-31-2001, 10:02 PM
omg ...LOL!!!!!!! :D
this is funny too:
# of bids 21 :eek:
21 people bidding a link from $5 to $255 :rolleyes:
shpilkus
05-31-2001, 10:09 PM
Apparently he has more than one copy available for sale! And he's already got a bid, so get there fast before this URL is gone! ;)
http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1602303955
And check this too: http://cgi6.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewListedItems&userid=cereal_dud&include=0&since=-1&sort=2&rows=25
He is the URL master! Why buy a URL from anyone else?
It gets better: Look! http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?MfcISAPICommand=GetResult&SortProperty=MetaEndSort&ht=1&query=URL
Who knew there was such a scam going on! Geez, we're in the wrong business folks! ;)
MCHost-Marc
05-31-2001, 10:47 PM
I wouldn't say we're in the wrong business ...he's gonna make less $$$ in the long run, and probably never more than $900 - $1,000/month ;)
TheComputerGuy
05-31-2001, 11:19 PM
I will sell a link to my site 1800spankme.org......
alpha
06-01-2001, 12:14 AM
im not an ebay user...
im guessing according to ebay, this kinda thing is not against their terms of service? :rolleyes:
SI-Chris
06-01-2001, 03:06 AM
I shall now reveal the incredible super-secret link where you can find the <insert graphics card here> at the lowest price!!!
http://www.shopper.com
Duh.
CRego3D
06-01-2001, 08:34 AM
http://www.ussa.com/ussaonline/product.asp?dept%5Fid=10609&pf%5Fid=100%2D110%2D1001871
DHWWnet
06-01-2001, 08:41 AM
Originally posted by CRego3D
http://www.ussa.com/ussaonline/product.asp?dept%5Fid=10609&pf%5Fid=100%2D110%2D1001871
:D
cheers,
elijah john
MCHost-Marc
06-01-2001, 12:48 PM
Originally posted by CRego3D
http://www.ussa.com/ussaonline/product.asp?dept%5Fid=10609&pf%5Fid=100%2D110%2D1001871
Did you find the link or did you buy it for $255 ? :D!!
Chicken
06-01-2001, 11:26 PM
That should be against EBAY rules. Sorry, but I doubt anyone read it correctly. If they did they are outta their mind.
determinist
06-02-2001, 04:21 AM
It looks like all those 21 bids where from bidders with mostly only 0-2 feedbacks..
btw, wasn't geforce 3 market around this price nowsday? http://www.streetprices.com/Computers/search.pl?query=geforce%203&startwithnumber=301