Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Can anyone tell me where this e-mail is from?


Shawn (GEcom)
05-28-2001, 04:08 PM
Here is the header. Obviously it is the Snow White virus e-mail message, but I want to know who is infected so I can tell them.

Return-Path: <>
Received: from mh7-sfba.mail.home.com ([24.0.95.236])
by femail24.sdc1.sfba.home.com
(InterMail vM.4.01.03.20 201-229-121-120-20010223) with ESMTP
id <20010528162449.OLHS29200.femail24.sdc1.sfba.home.com@mh7-sfba.mail.home.com>
for <wrestlecar@mail.pr1.on.wave.home.com>;
Mon, 28 May 2001 09:24:49 -0700
Received: from mx8-rwc.mail.home.com (mx8-rwc.mail.home.com [24.0.95.37])
by mh7-sfba.mail.home.com (8.9.3/8.9.0) with ESMTP id JAA19260
for <wrestlecar@home.com>; Mon, 28 May 2001 09:24:49 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from smtp05.mail.onemain.com (SMTP-OUT003.ONEMAIN.COM [63.208.208.73])
by mx8-rwc.mail.home.com (8.11.1/8.11.1) with SMTP id f4SGOmR11225
for <wrestlecar@home.com>; Mon, 28 May 2001 09:24:48 -0700 (PDT)
Date: Mon, 28 May 2001 09:24:48 -0700 (PDT)
Message-Id: <200105281624.f4SGOmR11225@mx8-rwc.mail.home.com>
Received: (qmail 11640 invoked from network); 28 May 2001 16:24:20 -0000
Received: from dialup-146-186.tnkno2.usit.net (HELO cf47) ([216.80.146.186]) (envelope-sender <>)
by smtp05.mail.onemain.com (qmail-ldap-1.03) with SMTP
for <wrestlecar@home.com>; 28 May 2001 16:24:20 -0000
From: Hahaha <hahaha@sexyfun.net>
Subject: Snowhite and the Seven Dwarfs - The REAL story!
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="--VE7GHIB85MFC1EJ8DQNW1ERG5"
Apparently-To: <wrestlecar@home.com>


Thanks,
Shawn

f5hosting.com
05-28-2001, 04:18 PM
I hope you didnt open that attachment...

Shawn (GEcom)
05-28-2001, 04:20 PM
Nope, Im really good with stuff like this.

I knew which virus it was when I got the e-mail. I also know how to remove the virus as I have had to do so in other computers before. I would like to know who sent it, but am not very good at doing tracking like this.

Thanks,
Shawn

Annette
05-28-2001, 06:47 PM
Headers say this mail originated from someone on a dialup account on usit.net, which is a POP for onemain.com, which in turn is owned by Earthlink.

Shawn (GEcom)
05-28-2001, 07:30 PM
Ok, I will go through me e-mail lists and see if I know anyone on Earthlink.

Thanks,
Shawn