Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : vortech copied me..


jayglate
05-28-2001, 01:34 AM
Does this page
http://www.vortechhosting.com/unixcorp.asp

look just a little like

http://www.pwebtech.com/unixbasic.html

Come on.. vortech....

:)

dektong
05-28-2001, 01:36 AM
wow... the resemblance is kinda obvious.. so Jay, did you copy vortech's? he..he.. :D

cheers,
:beer:

nopzor
05-28-2001, 01:46 AM
this seems to be happening more and more :)

the really sad/amusing thing is, when a company shamelessly rips off another companies specifications, they're obviously not providing the _exact_ same service, and are hence indirectly lying to their clients.

tip: if you're going to rip off a site, be more creative about it. and actually put some effort into it :)

Vortech
05-28-2001, 01:58 AM
I did not copy your's Jay but I have to say they are close. I have looked at pwebtech.com before when you called me.
If the resemblance is too close for you, let me know. We are in the process of completely redesigning the site layout, as we speak. However, if the issue is the centered tables then there are ALOT of sites online that resemble yours and mine.

jayglate
05-28-2001, 02:01 AM
Did you copy intergenix, because I know his looks like mine also. But your terms and conditions are almost exactly mine.

Vortech
05-28-2001, 02:36 AM
Never even seen intergenix before in my life. But that one as i said does look a lot like both on ours.. HEHE..

Trust me i did not copy any thing from your site... I may of got a good idea from you but i think every one does that as long as they don't copy a site word for word or image for image and this i would never do.


As in your own word ( almost exactly mine ). If its not 100% or even 80% the same then i don't see the problem here or the reason behind this post. You could of e-mailed me and asked or call as you have before. I would have told you the same this as i have here. I might of looked at your site might of suck in my head but would not copy you or anything close. Look at your page over all and look at the same page on our site. About the only thing that is even close is the tables and a few word match up here in there but i would not call it a copy by any means. It's close i would say but Jay trust me i did not copy yours and would probley say the same thing if i saw some thing close to mine.. Just to make you fell better its all being redesigned any way. Should be done in the next 2 weeks or so..


That layout has been there i know for well over 3 months now i think it was even there before you first called me i am not sure.. Might not of been as we had not started doing unix as much yet.

If there is some thing you want changed or think looks to MUCH like yours as you say let me know.. I find this kind of funny as it nothing but a table and a few words on the 2 that are even close to the same.

Get-Hosted.com
05-28-2001, 02:39 AM
I wouldn't call that much of a copy... Only thing they copy on the pages you point out are the subtitles for specs of their hosting plan and your mini-tos reworded with their specs in it. Only thing that seems to be much of copying is the mini-tos.

jayglate
05-28-2001, 02:48 AM
also the layout, and teh click here for virtual NT. and much of the wording in the plan it self

Leyroy
05-28-2001, 09:11 AM
I see nothing similar, let me take a close look.

(SH)Saeed
05-28-2001, 09:48 AM
There are so many websites out there that it is very hard to be unique. Almost everything you do has been done on another website. You are offering same services, it is a bigger chance that your website will look more the same than 2 other websites.

Even if they did copy you, you should be happy that someone liked your work so much to copy it. Just provide a good service and take care of your customers, that is what matters most.

klisis
05-28-2001, 11:04 AM
Originally posted by zolbian
There are so many websites out there that it is very hard to be unique. Almost everything you do has been done on another website. You are offering same services, it is a bigger chance that your website will look more the same than 2 other websites.

Even if they did copy you, you should be happy that someone liked your work so much to copy it. Just provide a good service and take care of your customers, that is what matters most.

Well, yeah, I got to agree. So many sites and limited thoughts on layout = resulting similar designs recently...
I must say those two do look similar though


Terms and Conditions
• Free Domain name offer DOES NOT APPLY TO THE RESELLER PROGRAM
• Resellers are not eligible for Free Domain Name offer.
• Each additional Domain Pointer/Aliases is a one time fee of $25
• Transfer above 15GB will be billed at $5 per GB
• 15GB transfer does not apply to Adult, Warez, MP3, Link Sites, or Image Galleries.
• 99% uptime guarantee does not apply to natural disasters or provider problems.
• Disk Space above 100MB will be billed at $0.75 MB per month.
-Vortech's


Terms and Conditions
• Free Domain name offer DOES NOT APPLY TO THE VIRTUAL FRONTPAGE
• Resellers are not eligible for Free Domain Name offer.
• Each additional Domain Pointer/Aliases is a one time fee of $25
• Transfer above 7GB will be billed at $8 per GB
• 7GB transfer does not apply to Adult, Warez, MP3, Link Sites, or Image Galleries.
• 99% uptime guarantee does not apply to natural disasters or provider problems.
• Disk Space above 200MB will be billed at $0.75?MB per month.
-Jay's


Even where the capital letter starts are same. Well but I must also say it is no big deal. It is common. He may or may not rip the basic design. And he may or may not even have gotten the basic layout idea somewhere else.
It doesn't matter as long as one does not *C O P Y the site design.

*Looks completely same.

gnorthey00
05-28-2001, 11:39 AM
I am very skeptical about this. First off, the Vortech is not an exact copy, I would think it is possible that Vortech saw some good ideas in the PWTechnologies. There is a very generic contract. I write my contracts based on others who have been in the industry longer than myself. While mine is worded much differently, I would not be surprised if someone else had done something like that and been less created in their word choices (i.e. copied a little more than they should have without thinking about it).

Here's an example, www.stjohnalaska.org and home.wonderfulweb.net/sjyouth. Both are for the same organization (basically), however, the later is my design, the main page is a design written by the priest mentioned on the copyright. THey are very similar designs, I decided I liked the basic layout of the first site so I have recycled the layout and done my own design work.

vizi
05-28-2001, 12:04 PM
The design is extermely popular, so you shouldn't complain Jay. Although the similarities that Klisis pointed out are interesting. Even hostway uses the same design: http://www.hostway.com/webhosting/goldplus.htm.

My company uses the same style of design, and we have had it the longest ;)

cbaker17
05-28-2001, 12:16 PM
I dont see anything that was really copied, the only thing i see is some color similaritys.

mkaufman
05-28-2001, 12:43 PM
Okay..why did this have to be posted in public?

The only thing that I see copied is the headers (eg E-Mail Support, Web Site Statistics, CGI-Script Features etc.) and that is copied, they are in the exact same order.

The designs are fine - there are many sites that look a lot like this.

alpha
05-28-2001, 01:47 PM
well, hmm, IMHO, alot of the wordings are the same... just alot of changes in numbers...

but i have to agree with everyone else, there are too many hosts who use similar if not same wording and categories...

Vader
06-22-2001, 01:25 PM
This person named Brad probably copied you.

Check this post out:
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13589

MOD EDIT:

Just reworded something :)

Dogma
06-22-2001, 02:50 PM
Originally posted by Vader
This person named Brad probably copied you.

Check this post out:
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13589

MOD EDIT:

Just reworded something :)
hehehe - Ahh come on, what did it say.........

ThePrimeHost
06-23-2001, 10:57 AM
I utilize Human Click on my site....

Recently it has been ringing that "I have a visitor". When I look up the referrer it is C:\mydrive\\etc....

Meaning that someone actually saved the site to their hard drive and it editing it....:mad:

Kind of steams me up, if you catch my drift.

cbaker17
06-23-2001, 08:13 PM
Doesnt is tell what ip its coming from?? Should be easy to bust them.