
|
View Full Version : Interland a spam haven?
Duster 06-30-2000, 03:17 PM Looking around the board, it's easy to find several negative comments about Interland. Here's one more, and I've never had service with them.
Yesterday, I received two bits of spam from a site at http://www.lightspeedmarketing.com/ I looked them up in Whois and found they were hosted on Interland, who was listed as the technical contact. I immediately forwarded the spam to Interland, both to the webmaster (listed as the technical contact) and to abuse@interland.com, with all headers intact.
I included a note that reputable companies cancel the accounts of spammers and that i hoped they would do the same. Since the entire site is dedicated to spamming methods, it seems clear it should be shut down.
It has been 25 hours since I sent the message to Interland and I haven't gotten so much as an autoresponder reply. The site is still functional. The great majority of spam reports I have made have resulted in cancellation of the account in under 24 hours.
I just thought some of you would want to know, Any company that is a haven for spammers should be run out of business.
I'll update this if I ever hear from Interland, though you can check the URL and see for yourself if they shut the site down.
inwks 06-30-2000, 04:31 PM Duster,
I emailed abuse@interland.com when I found out my site had a small unauthorised access (see separate thread), and they responded fairly quickly. Naturally, this is a one off and I can't speak for other cases.
To compliment InterLand (everyone needs one every now and again) regarding spam. Their mail servers are configured (at least my 2 are) so that you can only send email via the mail servers, if the mail from domain matches the domain name of the mail server. Granted this can be circumvented (anyone can send a mail from webmaster@lightspeedmarketing.com by connecting to their mail.lightspeedmarketing.com), but at least it is a start. Ideally, they would have authentication set up on their SMTP servers for all mail clients, apart from their web servers (as the free mail ActiveX control they use does not support authentication).
However, I do agree with you wholeheartedly, anyone using a hosting company (whether they pay for the service or not) should be stopped from using the system for spam.
Naturally, however, the hosting company is powerless to stop a customer using spamming tools that send the mail directly from their own machine, instead of routing via the hosting company's mail servers. I don't know if this is the case with yours, as I haven't seen the headers, but I suspect from your note that they have used Interland's mail servers, and Interland should do something about it (after its in the AUP). If they have used their own machine, you can trace the IP address of their ISP from the headers and stop them that way.
In fact the headers should say that mail.lightspeedmarketing.com received mail from IP address (of their machine), so you could also go through that route as well. Just a thought.
Justin S 06-30-2000, 04:42 PM I think Interland spams too much. Today I got two letters from them in the main (snail mail) advertising their services. I get at least 1 per month. It's annoying...
------------------
Justin Stayton
· WEB: http://www.j.cx
· EMAIL: justin@j.cx
· ICQ: 45549000 (http://www.icq.com/45549000)
Duster 06-30-2000, 05:02 PM Lightspeed spammed through Hotmail, and their accoutn was closed yesterday, within hours of me reporting it. Interland hosts this spammer and all you have to do is look at their site to see that it is all about spamming and selling spam tools. the first two paragraphs state:
LightSpeed Marketing is committed to providing the fastest, most reliable and advanced internet marketing products available.
We are the inventors of two of the most pioneering internet marketing products created, Stealth MassMailer 3.0 /4.0 and Sonic Email Collector.
It is not 26 1/2 hours since I reported them. One look at their one page site is all it takes to see it should be terminated immediately.
Martie 06-30-2000, 05:17 PM Justin....I think I get a couple of cards from Interland through snail mail weekly!
It is VERY annoying, esp. when Ive read SO many posts from past clients about them...(and we now have some former interland customers with us) Have you gotten the card yet about a chance for a free Volkswagon??
Duster--Ive never had service their either but this is one of those companies where the postings are just rampant as far as being negative, and also very similar in nature.
Its disgusting!
------------------
HostCaters--We Cater Hosting
www.hostcaters.com (http://www.hostcaters.com)
UNIXIELHOST 06-30-2000, 06:59 PM I did recieve thoses spam snail mail about free VW so what I did? Write a letter and say stop sending and faxed along with the ad to them every hour. Toughg ****, I dont need thier mail...Very seriously spamming!
Annette 06-30-2000, 07:18 PM While I don't think I've received any spam via Interland's servers, I have received those snail-mail postcards, which are immediately tossed. Now, if I'd known they were junk mailing me with a tease of a VW, I might have taken a second look. :) (Just kidding.)
------------------
Annette
Hosting Matters, Inc.
http://www.hostmatters.com
Taxibear 06-30-2000, 07:46 PM Even I got a snail from Interland the other day. And I live in Sweden. It's a first for hosts to use snail here.
DanielP 06-30-2000, 10:27 PM Is it me or is interland just sending us hosts spam??
I've gotten them as well and called them and had a strongly worded conversation and I haven't gotten one since :)
------------------
Sincerely~
Daniel Pearson
UltraSpeed USA
http://www.ultraspeedusa.com
AIM: UltraSpeedUSA
ICQ: 7021831
Email: dpearson@ultraspeedusa.com
Phone: 1-205-785-1872
I think they are DanielP.
I actually started noticing those darn snail mail cards sometime in January. I always laugh to my husband and say.. 'Hey, Interland is trying to sell webspace to a host. How cheesy!'
I collect them now, I have about 15 already...which I get sometimes twice a month. I plan to build a cardboard miniature of the Sears Tower with them. :D
DanielP 07-01-2000, 02:12 PM LOL Sounds Fun :)
I think we should start collecting them and send all of ours to you! :) :) :) :)
I would send the few I got but I burnt them :)
------------------
Sincerely~
Daniel Pearson
UltraSpeed USA
http://www.ultraspeedusa.com
AIM: UltraSpeedUSA
ICQ: 7021831
Email: dpearson@ultraspeedusa.com
Phone: 1-205-785-1872
Justin K 07-01-2000, 05:03 PM Hmmm I only seem to have gotten one. I don't feel special anymore. :( I did however make a fairly sturdy paper airplane out of mine. Thirty crashes and not 1 dent!
Hate to burst you guys bubble, but I am not a host and gets lots of Interland snail-mail spam also. There goes that theory...
DanielP 07-03-2000, 10:59 PM =P oh well.
Let interland flex their "money muscle" all they want. I'll just keep laughing while I re-invest most of my money into the company to make it better :) :).
------------------
Sincerely~
Daniel Pearson
UltraSpeed USA
http://www.ultraspeedusa.com
AIM: UltraSpeedUSA
ICQ: 7021831
Email: dpearson@ultraspeedusa.com
Phone: 1-205-785-1872
Duster 07-08-2000, 03:38 AM It is now 8, almost 9, dyas since I was spammed by a spam ware site hosted on Interland. Even though I sent them the message [b]twice[/], and quoting their policies against spamming with the second message, the spam site is still operational.
That adds another couple of reasons to avoid Interland, they do nothing about spam and they can't be trusted. Their stated policies are a lie.
|