Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : What happened to Web Extreme?


desertdust
02-03-2003, 06:30 PM
Not that I really care, but they seemed to have disappeared. I had a site hosted with them for the past year. Although I had little problem with it, I hated their "monster controls", etc. so I just finished moving my site to another host that I've been happy with for many months now.

I can't find a way to contact them to let them know that I am leaving. :mad: :mad: :mad:

I have deleted all the content that I'd put on their server just a little bit ago. Question: should I delete everything else that is still there in my space that they'd put there? :confused:

TheGAME1264
02-03-2003, 08:16 PM
desertdust, assuming I have the right domain name (webextreme.com), the following is the contact info:

Registrant:
Bong-Kyu Jeong
#1006 102-Dong Chunggu-Jeonwon Apt. Siji-Dong Suseong-Ku
Daegu KR

Domain Name: WEBEXTREME.COM
Registrar: HANGANG Systems,Inc. dba doregi.com

Administrative, Technical, Billing Contact:
Bong-Kyu Jeong redcross7@hanmir.com
+82-53-854-3345


Record created on.......: Dec 30, 2002
Record last updated on..: Dec 30, 2002
Record expires on.......: Dec 30, 2003

Domain name servers in listed order:

ns.hangang.com 203.233.237.2
webserver.hangang.com 203.233.237.3

If I were you, however, I wouldn't worry about contacting them first. I'd call my credit card company and get them to disallow any further billing on the grounds (tell them the amount, the company that was listed on your previous bills and what happened). That way, you're not on the hook for any more money. After that, let them figure it out.

desertdust
02-03-2003, 11:59 PM
I'm sorry, I should've specified the URL for them. It is http://www.web-x.net and is not the same. It currently leads to a 'cannot find server' page.

TheGAME1264
02-04-2003, 02:25 AM
Registrant:
Shelton, Jonathan (WEBX12-DOM)
22229 PINEBROOK DR
BRISTOL, VA 24202-2611
US

Domain Name: WEB-X.NET

Administrative Contact:
Shelton, Jonathan (GNBJBOAOHI) jshelton@web-x.net

22229 Pinebrook Dr.
Bristol, VA 24202
US
423-967-8831 123 123 1234
Technical Contact:
Shelton, Jonathan (MKWGDANOXI) jshelton@web-x.net

22229 Pinebrook Dr
Bristol, VA 24202
US
4239678831 123 123 1234


(according to Network Solutions.)

The same information appears through a company called hostflo.net (who web-x's DNS servers are through, so it's probably just another one of this guy's domain names), except for another email address, which is automatic1977@charter.net .

I don't know US area codes so I can't tell you if that phone number's legit, but I'd say it's your only shot. Hope this helps.

Reptilian Feline
02-04-2003, 11:58 AM
Those phone numbers look fake. I guess it's possible that a number could be 123 123 1234, but that should probably belong to a very old company.

TheGAME1264
02-04-2003, 12:30 PM
That was the fax number. He may not have had one and put that in instead. I thought it was fake too. The other number might be legit, though. I haven't done a reverse lookup on it yet and I don't know the Virginia area code(s).

As I said earlier though, desertdust's primary concern is avoiding a rebill.

XE|Sebastian
02-04-2003, 04:23 PM
Web-X Was BOUGHT

I was also previously hosted by web extreme. I talked to the support team there and i was told that Web-X was bought by CI Host (http://www.******.com) and indeed this was true. You have to cancel your account through CI host like i did.

XE|Sebastian
02-04-2003, 04:26 PM
Originally posted by TheGAME1264
Registrant:
Shelton, Jonathan (WEBX12-DOM)
22229 PINEBROOK DR
BRISTOL, VA 24202-2611
US

Domain Name: WEB-X.NET

Administrative Contact:
Shelton, Jonathan (GNBJBOAOHI) jshelton@web-x.net

22229 Pinebrook Dr.
Bristol, VA 24202
US
423-967-8831 123 123 1234
Technical Contact:
Shelton, Jonathan (MKWGDANOXI) jshelton@web-x.net

22229 Pinebrook Dr
Bristol, VA 24202
US
4239678831 123 123 1234


(according to Network Solutions.)

The same information appears through a company called hostflo.net (who web-x's DNS servers are through, so it's probably just another one of this guy's domain names), except for another email address, which is automatic1977@charter.net .

I don't know US area codes so I can't tell you if that phone number's legit, but I'd say it's your only shot. Hope this helps.

Ineed, the site (before it dissapeared) changed to HostFlo. Now it seems that both Web Extreme and HostFlo are both gone, probably bough by CI Host like i stated in my above post.

desertdust
02-04-2003, 05:46 PM
Thanks. I just called CI Host and they indeed did have my account. They were very courteous and asked why I was leaving, which I explained. My account with them is now officially closed.