Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Same hosting companies under different names?


pmarsh
05-05-2000, 12:57 AM
Hi all,

Apon going through a lot of hosting companies hostinvestigator.com, i've noticed quiet a few number of hosting companies who have neally identical FAQs and services, apon looking at it more they are all run from the same place. Is it just one company setting up "different" type's of domain hosting companies?

cheers

Jaymes
05-05-2000, 01:58 PM
I bet you that most of them are resellers -

Of course they'll all have the same FAQ's, etc because they're provided for them when they sign up as resellers, or they steal the FAQ's from the provider's web site.

Mark Hewitt
05-06-2000, 05:41 AM
You will often find that many of these lease dedicated servers from the same provider and it is the provider who determines what features they get hence the specs look very similar when you compare them with each other.

This is very different from being a reseller since you do indeed own your own server even though it is effectively co-loacted. This is often much better than the firm who supposedly house their own servers but are on only (say) on a 64k leased line.

superdave
05-18-2000, 11:04 AM
In my research I found all of these are the same, servers in Texas, a division by Fidelity something on the east coast. Low prices ... Don't know if they or good or otherwise ... we passed because they only have email support.

Best-host
Amce
EwebHost
Intellihosting
Kogent
Millenium
Skynet
Syonic
StarHost
Superhost
UniHost
UniHosting


------------------
SuperDave
SuperStarVideo.com

BC
05-18-2000, 07:42 PM
Avoid that entire list of companies above (with the exception of the two at the bottom). From reports on other UBBs, they are run by a pyramid company with no regards for customers and are basically rip-offs. In particular, Skynet and intellihosting have copped a lot of complaints.

pmarsh
05-19-2000, 07:40 AM
Thanks for that Superdave, Syonic was actually one of the company's I was going to sign up with, I got slightly suspicious though, when I would ask some more "technical questions" which appeared to have got me forwarded emails from someone else (his feed?)

The deals are all very similar, and the FAQ's are all the same on all the sites.

If everything they offer is true, then I guess they could be a good company.. *shurgg* all this hassle, just to get a good hosting company :(

Optimal Servers
05-19-2000, 05:52 PM
<<EDIT>>

another
05-27-2000, 03:36 AM
superiorhost.com
NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH SUPERIOR-HOST.COM
but this one is supernu reseller
superiorhost.com
Registrant:
Super.Nu Webhosting (SUPERIORHOST2-DOM)
4606 FM 1960 West Suite 400
Houston, TX 77069
US

Domain Name: SUPERIORHOST.COM

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact, Billing Contact:
Gunnels, Stephen H (SHG17) super@SUPER.NU
Super.Nu
4606 FM 1960 West Suite 400
Houston , TX 77069
281-315-8850 (FAX) 281-315-8851

Record last updated on 03-Jul-1999.
Record expires on 07-Feb-2001.
Record created on 07-Feb-1999.
Database last updated on 25-May-2000 19:32:41 EDT.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS.SKYPORT.NET 216.169.96.10
NS2.SKYPORT.NET 216.169.97.10

Digit
06-02-2000, 09:11 PM
Anyone notice that Awardhosting.com has redesigned to look different from TrueHosting? At least we now know that Peter Francis-Macrae is _not_ a designer. I _love_ that brown on dark blue look.

And check out his WHOIS!
-------------------------


Registrar: ALABANZA, INC.

Organization:
address:
,

Admin contact:
email:
phone:
fax:

Tech contact:
email:
phone:
fax:

Nameservers: ns.truehosting.net
ns2.truehosting.net


-----------------
Wow! That's not shady. Burst sure got mixed up with the right client.

Speaking of using multiple names, looks like TrueHosting's information managed to get updated. Too bad Peter^H^H^H^H^HDavey couldn't get Peter's name off while removing all other information...
-----------------

Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, INC.

Organization: Peter Francis-Macrae
address: N/A
, GB

Admin contact: Dept, Support
email: admin@SPEEDYSERVER.NET
phone: N/A
fax: N/A

Tech contact: Dept, Support
email: admin@SPEEDYSERVER.NET
phone: N/A
fax: N/A

Nameservers: ns2.server7.speedyservers.com
ns.server7.speedyservers.com
--------------

Sigh.....

Private Joker
06-03-2000, 11:23 AM
The Award Hosting TOS proves that no one bothered to proof read it:

Other non-defined activities that True Hosting considers, at its sole discretion, to be inappropriate or immoral.


Way to go!

BC
06-03-2000, 09:20 PM
*chuckles* Didn't expect anything else from him....

You can run Davey, but you can't hide... Not after I complained to your ISPs about your behaviour!

paulpelton
06-04-2000, 09:34 PM
Not only can't he hide from the people he's screwed, but he apparently can't even help giving himself away, as that Award Hosting TOS makes clear.

What a doof.

DaveCheng
06-08-2000, 06:26 PM
Please refer to http://fidpac.freeservers.com for important information about this host and other hosts related to it.

This is part of a web host "ring" that is managed by Steve Gunnels and is related to a variety of addresses that pretend to be different companies.

If you have more information about this host/other hosts managed by Gunnels, please write to contrib@fidpac.freeservers.com

At last count, these hosts are:
americashost.com
apache-hosting.com
best1hosting.com
best-deal.net
best-host.net
besthost1.com
betterhosting.net
bluefinhosting.net
century-host.net
discountworldwebhost.com
earth-host.com
europa-relay.net
favoritehost.com
fidpac.com
host-america.net
host-s.com
hostitplus.com
huntwick.com
intellihosting.com
lionhost.com
mlpro.com
stellweb.com
super.nu
superbhost.net
superhostess.com
superhosts.net
syonic.com
ultra-host.net
unihosting.com
web1host.com
webrite.com
webspacesupplier.com

amr
06-09-2000, 06:33 PM
Why don't you print copies of the web sites, the whois information and etc and send it all to the Texas Attorney General's Office?

Wilms
06-10-2000, 11:52 PM
www.webaxxs.com (http://www.webaxxs.com) is the same as olm.net. They are not resellers. I got confused at first when I recieved e-mail responses from olm when I had signed-up with webaxxs. They offer a very good service. THEY HOST a large portion of the resellers out there.

hickster
05-30-2001, 12:39 AM
What have they done that's against the law?

Nothing... You guys just don't like them...

BC
05-30-2001, 12:49 AM
Originally posted by hickster
What have they done that's against the law?

Nothing... You guys just don't like them...


Errrr.... Where in the world did this come from?

(in other words, why was this thread dragged out of the murky archives?)

hickster
05-30-2001, 12:59 AM
LOL.. YOUR STILL HERE.. HEHEHE.. I APPRECIATE YOUR RESPONSE.... You see, I signed up for super.nu reseller thingy, and now they owe me over $600... Yet Steve Gunnels, keeps saying.... Oh my god, this never happens, we are sooo sorry for the mistake... The check will be sent out today... Then he dissapears for a week, and the whole cycle starts over again. In reality it's to the tenth degree of what I told you... What should I do?

Hickster

manuelbp
08-31-2001, 05:42 PM
I have got my page hosted at syonic.com

Honestly, my experience hasnīt been too bad. My site has never been down, the data transfers are quite fast, I have 500 mb storage, and every single technology is supported.

The only one complaint I have is that technical support is very bad. Sometimes they donīt answer, others they have me 2 days just to ask me what is my domain or which is my server (super.nu)
They reply me forwarding me the mails from fidpac.com

Well, donīt know if this contributes to something. Please tell me what you know about this companies. Think I should change hosting?

qslack
08-31-2001, 06:04 PM
My experience with Super.nu was just fine. Support was fairly quick, speeds were fine, little downtime, etc. I guess I just got lucky.

I later switched to another host whose service I got for free, which certainly was nice. :)

If nothing is wrong, then I don't see why you should move. But you should be a bit wary and be prepared to move in case something does go wrong. However you say the support is bad so if I were you I would move. Or ask them for faster responses and see what they say.

Chicken
08-31-2001, 07:12 PM
MOD NOTE: Most of this thread is over a year old. The last part, over 3 months old. Just a 'pay attention' ...