View Full Version : Are large companies killing the Internet?
afriq 01-20-2003, 07:03 AM Do you have any views on the registration of generic terms as trade marks? And are you concerned about the influence of trade marks (and large corporates) on the Internet?
If so, please visit http://nobodyowns24.com. The site is all about an application by a large company to register "24.com" as a trade mark, and the effect of that on people like myself that owns a domain ending in 24.com.
Let me know what you think ...
rgrds,
Johan
JWise 01-20-2003, 07:12 AM so if this happens, sites that end in 24 are no more?
wow , this is total crap , shame on that company . why do these larger companies believe they can bully people , it only makes for bad pr on thier part
JWise 01-20-2003, 07:39 AM this is bad if it happens
afriq 01-20-2003, 07:44 AM Originally posted by JWise
so if this happens, sites that end in 24 are no more?
I must add that I'm also based in South Africa, although host24 has clients from all over the world. They won't try this with people in the USA or elsewhere, but they are certainly trying their luck here in South Africa!
Just do a search at google using "mweb absa free internet" (without the actual quotes) and you'll see that M-Web is totally messed up. They are the largest ISP in SA, and think that they own the Internet!
Bannaz 01-20-2003, 09:51 AM Does this means sites such as 10host & MEhost etc would be forced to abandon ship if such companies were to trademark me.com and 10.com etc?
Interesting thread. :agree:
RossH 01-20-2003, 10:32 AM This is a very silly thread. Let me remind tell you all a little thing about trademarks. Trademarks are only good for things done after the trademark has been registerd. So lets say you own Walmart and you have the name trademarked. Now lets say someone registers walmart.com then you can get the name back because you have it trademarked. If you did not have walmart trademarked before they registerd the domain then you could not get it back.
afriq 01-20-2003, 10:42 AM Originally posted by dk2
This is a very silly thread.
Depends on whether you are involved or not.
This is the timeline:
Q1 1998 - Naspers/Media24 registered domain 24.com (could have been sooner, I'm not sure about this one)
Q4 1998 - Naspers/Media24 files trade mark application
Q1 1999 - I registered host24.com
Q4 2002 - Naspers/Media24 objects to my usage of host24.com
Q1 2003 - trade mark application changed to "Advertised"
Q1 2003 - I object to their trade mark application
Ok, if their application is successful, the registration date of the Trade Mark will be Q4 1998, i.e. date of application.
Now tell me that this thread is silly ... It would have been a completely different issue if I registered host24.com before they filed their application.
The same sort of thing is happening all the time in the USA (and the rest of the world), not only in South Africa.
Lamont 01-20-2003, 12:52 PM If someone trademarks Talk.com we're in trouble.
afriq 01-20-2003, 03:24 PM Originally posted by Lamont
If someone trademarks Talk.com we're in trouble.
*lol*
MDJ2000 01-20-2003, 03:28 PM Didn't Ebay get laughed out of court for trying to get everyone with the word "bay" in their name shutdown?
afriq 01-20-2003, 03:45 PM Originally posted by MDJ2000
Didn't Ebay get laughed out of court for trying to get everyone with the word "bay" in their name shutdown?
mmmmh ...
Just take a look at these links:
http://news.com.com/2100-1017-271430.html?legacy=cnet
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/1467619.stm
http://members.tripod.com/~steadfast/alternabay.html
I'm not sure what the outcome was , though ...
interactive 01-20-2003, 03:56 PM Wouldn't the problem be solved if you trademarked host24.com?
afriq 01-20-2003, 03:58 PM Originally posted by interactive
Wouldn't the problem be solved if you trademarked host24.com?
It's too late now. According to South African law, a trade mark (once registered) is back dated to the date of application.
MDJ2000 01-20-2003, 04:02 PM Well, BidBay is a bad example, that is an obvious ripoff. I hope Ebay does win on those grounds, but not because the name simply has "bay" in it, but because the website, business, and name were all ripped. In other words, they should be slapped if they try to shutdown www.greenbay.com. :)
afriq 01-20-2003, 04:34 PM Originally posted by MDJ2000
Well, BidBay is a bad example, that is an obvious ripoff.
agreed
|