Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Want a free dedicated server?


spiral
01-10-2003, 02:44 AM
surfing around the internet looking for a good deal on a dedicated server, what do i stumble across

Http://www.freededicatedservers.com

Somehow this manage can afford to offer

Dual Hard Drives - 36 GB LVD SCSI, 40 GB EIDE**
Intel Pentium III 850 MHz
100 Base T Ethernet
1024 MB RAM
256+ IP addresses*
300 GB per month bandwidth transfer!


for a simple javascript ad on your site,

Hosts: want to cut your server cost s :D

eddy2099
01-10-2003, 02:50 AM
Hmmm but that javascript is indeed very disrupting. I will stick to my PAID account, at least it is all mine to play with.

spiral
01-10-2003, 02:53 AM
lol, i'd put more faith in a 386 coneected on a 14k modem

eddy2099
01-10-2003, 03:02 AM
Hmm, How I miss my 300bps modem ;)

Few things in life which disguise me and Javascript Adverts and Popups are amongst the top few things.

Aushosts
01-10-2003, 03:04 AM
Interesting :rolleyes:

ClusterMania
01-10-2003, 03:09 AM
Hmm they are on qwest but latency is not so great



| 4 | | 154.11.10.53 | nwmrbc01br01.bb.telus.com | | | 38 | x | 154.11.10.0 |
| 5 | | 209.53.75.178 | sttlwa01gr02.bb.telus.com | | | 52 | x----- | 209.53.75.0 |
| 6 | | 154.11.10.2 | plalca01gr00.bb.telus.com | | | 37 | x | 154.11.10.0 |
| 7 | | 154.11.3.14 | peer.plalca01gr00.bb.telus.com | | | 36 | x | 154.11.3.0 |
| 8 | | 205.171.205.29 | svl-core-03.inet.qwest.net | ?--- | | 38 | x | 205.171.205.0 |
| 9 | | 205.171.14.125 | svl-core-02.inet.qwest.net | ?--- | | 47 | x- | 205.171.14.0 |
| 10 | | 205.171.8.201 | dca-core-01.inet.qwest.net | Washington, DC, USA | -05:00 | 97 | x | 205.171.8.0 |
| 11 | | 205.171.9.22 | dca-edge-01.inet.qwest.net | Washington, DC, USA | -05:00 | 97 | x | 205.171.9.0 |
| 12 | | 65.113.64.30 | - | | | 111 | -x----- | 65.113.64.0 |
| 13 | | 208.49.89.17 | - | | | 98 | x | 208.49.89.0 |
| 14 | | 64.177.37.200 | www.freededicatedservers.com | | | 99 | x | 64.177.37.0 |

llew
01-10-2003, 03:22 AM
Adult / Password / Warez Sites (We can arrange free servers in safe jurisdictions) :eek2:

porcupine
01-10-2003, 08:37 AM
Originally posted by llew
Adult / Password / Warez Sites (We can arrange free servers in safe jurisdictions) :eek2:

Are you representing this company, or are you reading that from their site?

Neverless, it comes as no surprise that they're on Qwest, because Qwest's abuse department.... I'd say it was a bunch of monkeys if i was convinced it even existed :eek: :eek2:

skylab
01-10-2003, 10:12 AM
that's actually quoted on their site porcupine.

sheesh, i can't believe they actually announce that.

haesu
01-10-2003, 10:20 AM
I wonder how unreliable their service will be.

Not to mention javascript is very stupid looking.

Even paid colo/dedicated places have issues such as DoS, etc.. Now let see how unpaid colo/dedicated provider can handle such issues with just income based out of ads.

-hc

FanCube
01-10-2003, 10:23 AM
I first visited freededicatedservers.com about two years ago, I donīt think the site has been updated in the last two years and I have never heard about anyone that actually got one of their servers.

As the ad market is right now do I doubt that you will be able to cover the costs of a datacenter and staff with only ad revenue but I could be wrong.

If anyone have got a dedicated server from freededicatedservers.com then please post about your experince.

mindgasm
01-10-2003, 10:36 AM
Maybe their revenue is generated from pop-ups on their site when people like us visit the site to learn more about their supposed *Free* servers? :D

HTTPbit
01-10-2003, 01:49 PM
The Ad Pop-ups are very poor. Not a good idea.

Shikha

.hammer
01-10-2003, 03:37 PM
this is just a big hoax.. they get money bybecause off the banners.. if you read the whole site.. they even state that they can not give you a server even if you have more then 2000 hits if they deside so.. so after you have gone to the trouble of giving this guy free money by displaying a anoying ad on your page they dont accept you even if you have the amounth of visitors required.. so you have done everything for nothing..


you pay for what you get.. and if you pay nothing.. you truely get nothing

mainarea
01-10-2003, 04:35 PM
I heard about this a while ago, and it is a scam.

"You agree add the tracking for a period of 14 days and send the account password to us so both you and us can review the stats in real-time."

It's just for them to get free ad views.

BalAncE
01-10-2003, 05:21 PM
Neverless, it comes as no surprise that they're on Qwest, because Qwest's abuse department.... I'd say it was a bunch of monkeys if i was convinced it even existed-"porcupine"

hehehe.... so true! Qwest sux..:disagree: