Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : laptops in $50 usd


RackFive
01-01-2003, 08:15 PM
In the action site mercadolibre.com (a ebay site) and deremate.com a person is selling laptops in $50 usd and some people have got it, how can he sell laptops in $50 usd? :confused: the laptop is Compaq mod. 1528CL, Intel Pentium 4, 2.4MHz, 512 MB RAM, 40GB HD, Combo DVD/CD-R(W) 8x, etc.

*I dont will post a link to the site of this person, because some people will think its spam :spam:

Chicken
01-01-2003, 08:18 PM
Maybe these, "fell off the truck" as they say?

homeiss
01-01-2003, 08:36 PM
Yah, maybe he knows people that can hook him up... :)

Centralized
01-01-2003, 08:39 PM
RackFive, you have 626, I think that is enough credibility :)
Please provide the link.

ice53ltd
01-01-2003, 08:41 PM
Maybe the seller is an investment fraudster... will spend heaps of money to build a relationship of trust and then a while later defraud everyone in one go.

That form of scam is growing in popularity and increasing in sophistication :(

RackFive
01-01-2003, 10:38 PM
Originally posted by Centralized
RackFive, you have 626, I think that is enough credibility :)
Please provide the link.

the site is www.tecnoplaneta.com but I dont recomend buy something

flitcher
01-01-2003, 10:40 PM
a quick look at the page shows that he's copied the layout from UltSearch (http://www.ultsearch.com). So if he is willing to copy a layout I'm sure he is willing to steal your money as well.

RackFive
01-01-2003, 10:44 PM
I know, I asked the same in the site mercadolibre.com and he say its a template

Acroplex
01-01-2003, 11:02 PM
Scam. Also avoid this Ukranian store:
http://www.odessaexportimport.com/contactus.htm

RDX1
01-02-2003, 03:24 AM
Yeah, atfirst i thought the site was down when i saw the URL.. then i saw it was a real page..

Lame..

skelley1
01-02-2003, 03:27 AM
lol...we had a guy that came to the clubhouse one time trying to sell us a 9mm with a scope and a camlock barrel (for a silencer) for $50. We promptly escorted him out.

DJiMPaCT
01-02-2003, 05:21 AM
Hmm,

If this is for real I will have a laptop for every corner in my house.

Anyone actually give them a shot yet?

WebmastTroy
01-02-2003, 08:07 AM
When buying the reports of this matrix, your name to be á entered in this matrix to obtain a computer type " laptop ".


Buying the "reports of this matrix"?......:confused:

homeiss
01-02-2003, 06:47 PM
Originally posted by timechange
Scam. Also avoid this Ukranian store:
http://www.odessaexportimport.com/contactus.htm

At least tell us why to avoid them...;)

Tazzman
01-02-2003, 06:53 PM
Take my advice and never buy a laptop off ebay. It's riddled with fraud, particularly on laptops. I got taken for over $1000 just over a year ago and all I got back off ebay's insurance was $175. I did manage to get the FBI internet fraud division on the guy's case, but I never heard the outcome, so I'm guessing he got away with it :bawling:

I still miss my $1000.

He'll just take the $50 off all those helpless sods and run off and there's probably nobody that will do anything about it, certainly not over $50.

FeBox
01-02-2003, 07:02 PM
Originally posted by Tazzman
Take my advice and never buy a laptop off ebay. It's riddled with fraud, particularly on laptops. I got taken for over $1000 just over a year ago and all I got back off ebay's insurance was $175. I did manage to get the FBI internet fraud division on the guy's case, but I never heard the outcome, so I'm guessing he got away with it :bawling:

I still miss my $1000.

He'll just take the $50 off all those helpless sods and run off and there's probably nobody that will do anything about it, certainly not over $50.


Man, and Im still weeping over my 250 bucks I blew on what I thought were new APC UPSs. He sent me dead UPSs and never answered any of my emails. Oh well....you win some, you lose some....

RDX1
01-02-2003, 07:07 PM
Ask if he can do COD's ;)

Mester
01-02-2003, 09:06 PM
I emailed www.tecnoplaneta.com and it seems to be a pyramid scheme (i think thats the right term).

You pay $100 for a slot and are put in line. As more and more peopel pay $100 you are eventually shipped your computer. I think this is illegal in Canada/USA but they are based in Puerto Rico.

Anyways, i think this is legit but illegal :D

Acroplex
01-02-2003, 09:27 PM
That's why the US should either annex PR as a state, or let it go on its own.

Tazzman
01-02-2003, 10:52 PM
Anyways, i think this is legit but illegal Talking about 'contradictio in terminis' :D

It's either legal or it ain't. Puerto Rico has laws? Guess not for sheme's like this to be allowed.

Centralized
01-02-2003, 10:56 PM
LOL! This suer is a pyramid based scheme. This actual plot can also be found on eBay with listings stating "FREE PLASMA TV, You Pay Shipping"

Its basically a matrix and as stated previosly, you place in the matrix and ultimately get something sent to you.

Acroplex
01-02-2003, 11:08 PM
My name is Neo, I own the Matrix :D

Centralized
01-02-2003, 11:18 PM
timechange!! Are are you Timmay?

Acroplex
01-02-2003, 11:22 PM
ooops...

MODS! CLOSE THIS THREAD!